©2008 Arkansas Web Solutions  
  Engineering Continuing Education      
  StateRequirements      
             
 
 

Professional Engineering License Renewal Continuing Education Requirements

Louisiana

Do our courses provide valid continuing education credit for this state? Yes

Do I have to send in evidence of completion of my continuing education credits? No

Continuing Education Personal Development Hours (PDH's): 30 PDH required per 2 years

Renewal Date: Biannually on registration date

Requirements: Louisiana has board-approved providers, non board-approved providers must keep verifiable records of students' participation, if you are an engineer who is the engineer of record for building projects, 8 hours of your continuing education must be related to Life Safety Code, building codes, or the Americans with Disabilities Act, also each licensee must have 1 PDH per renewal period in ethics.

Completion of college course (1 semester hour = 45 PDH 1/4 hour = 30 PDH), or completion of continuing education course (10 PDH per 1 Continuing Education Unit), or successful completion of correspondence courses, televised or videotaped courses, other short courses/tutorials (1 PDH per hour of attendance), or presenting or attending seminars, in-house courses, workshops, presentations at meetings, conventions, conferences (1 PDH per hour of development), or teaching a course for the first time, authoring a peer-reviewed published paper, article, or book (10 PDH), authoring an article in a non peer-reviewed publication (5 PDH), or active participation in professional or technical societies (1 PDH each organization, 3 max per renewal period), or being granted a patent (10 PDH), or participating in problem preparation for NCEES or state professional exam (10 PDH max per renewal period)

Renewal Exemptions: You are exempt from continuing education if: You just received your license this year, you are no longer practicing, you are retired, you spent over 120 consecutive days overseas in employment or military service, experiencing an illness, disability, or injury that prevents continuing education.

Link: http://www.lapels.com/pdf/cpd_rule.pdf

Renewal Info Link: http://www.lapels.com/CPD.htm